Who We Are

We are a true global society of faculty, staff, students and community partners dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through education and research — all with an eye on building a Pacific community. The school is anchored in the reputation and successes of UC San Diego and the University of California system. We are guided by individuals who strive to maintain a climate of fairness, cooperation and professionalism that is embodied in our ethical principles. Furthermore, we believe that diversity, equity and inclusion are essential ingredients of academic excellence.

Our History

While our School stands among the world’s top graduate schools of international relations and is the established leader in its focus on Asia and the Americas, this is only part of the story. It is also anchored in the reputation and successes of the University of California, San Diego and the University of California system as a whole.

We are the public policy leader at one of the nation’s most accomplished universities, with an integrated faculty from the well-recognized UC San Diego fields of international relations, political science and economics, where professors are among the top 10 in the country in their respective disciplines. We have the sixth largest research and development budget among American universities, and we have many Nobel Prize laureates. We are proud to be ranked as the number one college in the nation for the fifth consecutive year based on research, civic engagement and social mobility.


Students have unmatched access to internationally renowned faculty who integrate rigorous scholarship with an enthusiasm for teaching and active engagement in and out of the classroom. They are leaders in research ranging from the resolution of civil wars to implications of the changing pattern of international trade; from domestic politics to finance and business in Pacific countries; and from the foreign policy of China to the evaluation of anti-poverty, public health and environmental programs in developing economies. Learn more about the range and depth of their vast research interests today.


Our staff is dedicated to supporting faculty, students and friends of the School with valuable, innovative, and timely services. They are committed to the goal of attracting, developing and retaining a diverse and outstanding faculty as well as a student body capable of upholding leadership positions in today's competitive international arena. Discover the listing of departments and staff members.

Advisory Board

The International Advisory Board was formed in 1986 to aid the dean in achieving the vision and mission of the School. Members provide counsel on current issues that affect our role as an established leader in the region. A list of current and emeritus members is listed below.

2017–18 Members

William A. Bold, Former Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Qualcomm Inc.

Kurt M. Campbell, Founding Partner, Chairman and CEO, The Asia Group

Carlos Casasus, Director General, Corporacion Universitaria para el Desarollo de Internet, A.C. (CUDI)

M. Javade Chaudhri, Partner, Jones Day

Kathryn J. Colllier, Vice President and Treasurer, Sempra Energy

Shawn Covell, ’12, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Paramount Pictures

Peter Cowhey, Dean and Qualcomm Professor of Communications and Technology Policy, UC San Diego

Diana Lady Dougan, Senior Advisor, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Phyllis Epstein, Community Volunteer

Aaron Feldman, President, Sunroad Enterprises

Robert (Bob) Hormats, Vice Chairman, Kissinger Associates Inc.

Bill Huang, CEO, CloudMinds

Aaron Jacobson '08, Materials Manager, United Technologies Aerospace Systems; President, GPS Alumni Board

James Lambright, Former Chairman and CEO, U.S. Export-Import Bank

Zhong Yuan Li, Chairman, China HealthCare Holdings Ltd.

Ron Mannix, Chairman, Coril Holdings Ltd.

David Michael, Senior Advisor, Boston Consulting Group

Diana Villiers Negroponte, Public Policy Scholar, Woodrow Wilson International Center

Henry (Hank) Nordhoff, Chairman and CEO, Banyan Biomarkers

Kyota Omori, Chairman, Mitsubishi Research Institute Inc.

Scott Park ’90, President and CEO, Doosan Infracore Construction Equipment

Brooke Partridge '91, CEO and Founder, Vital Wave Consulting Inc.

Rafael Pastor, Former Chairman of the Board and CEO, Vistage International

Brian Powers, Chairman Emeritus, Hellman & Friedman LLC

Jeff Rector '97, Partner, Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton

Jeremiah Robins, Chairman and CEO, Great Pond Management Co. LLC

Donald J. Rosenberg,  Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Qualcomm Inc.

Sachio Semmoto, Chairman, RENOVA Inc.

Andrew (Drew) E. Senyei, Managing Director, Enterprise Partners Venture Capital

Richard N. Sinkin, General Partner, InterAmerican Group

John So, Managing Director, Asia Pacific at Metropolitan Real Estate Equity Managers

Kwan L. So, President, EVG Enterprises Inc.

Ricardo Tavares, CEO, TechPolis

Vice Admiral Robert Thomas, Jr., U.S. Navy (retired)

Manuel Weinberg, President, Finteco

Yiru Zhou '93, Vice President of China Operations, Qualcomm Technologies Inc.

Eric Zwisler, Chairman, Cardinal Health China

Emeritus Members

Mr. Nicholas B. Binkley, Partner, Forrest Binkley & Brown
Mrs. Frances Hesselbein, Chair, Leader to Leader Institute
Ms. Lucy L. Killea '75, California State Senator (Retired)
Mrs. Susan Lew, President, S. Lew & Associates
Mr. Lawrence B. Robinson, President, La Jolla Investment Co., LLC
Mr. Hans W. Schoepflin, President, Panta Rhea Foundation
Mr. R. B. Woolley, Jr., President, Girard Capital