2024 Award Recipients

Academic Achievement Award Highest grade point average in the graduating class

MAS-IA

Minh Nam Pham. MIA, BA-MIA

Anjali Bhatt, Mir Muhtadi Faiaz, MPP. BA-MPP

Jonathan Elkobi & Dinah Shi, MCEPA

Richard Covington Award Recognizes a technically excellent program design and evaluation paper Jonathan Elkobi

Ruth Adams Award Recognizes the best analytical paper (qualitative) Fernanda Andrea Padilla

Econometrics Prize Recognizes the best empirical paper (quantitative) Akshay Yeddanapudi

> Policy Memo Award First year GPS student who wrote the best policy memo paper for a course **Daniel Hershfield**

Language Achievement Award Outstanding achievement in language study at GPS **Danielle Hannah Eve Groper**

Joseph Grunwald Memorial Award Significant contributions in the promotion of Inter-American understanding Paula Jaramillo

Faculty Recognition Award Awarded and voted on by the Class of 2024 Jesse Driscoll **Gordon McCord**

Dean's Teaching Award Best curriculum teaching assistant or tutor as voted by the Class of 2025 **Anne Charles**

Commencement Speaker Award Chosen by the Class of 2024 to deliver the Commencement address Jordan Ryan Chu

Ayal Margalith Memorial Award for Leadership Graduate student who has shown leadership, excellence and devotion to the GPS student body as voted by the Class of 2024 **Taysia Fu-Jan Leung**

> MAS-IA Peer Award For professionalism, scholarship, collegiality, integrity and service Devin McCormick

Doming Liu Award Significant contribution and leadership to student life within their first year at GPS as voted by the Class of 2025 **Okilbek Abdumavlanov**

EDI Award Meaningful impact on student life and well-being through student-initiated Equity, Diversity and Inclusion activities Jov Werner





School of Global Policy and Strategy

University of California San Diego

2024 **Commencement Exercises**

Friday, June 14, 2024 10 a m

LionTree Arena

Graduating Class of 2024

Commencement Exercises

Master of Advanced Studies in International Affairs

Sean Alexander Shynar Baitukina Daniel Beebe Aniali Bhatt Dean Black Philip DeFord

Charmas Lee Hvun Joon Lee Woojong Lee Devin McCormick Omar Sebastian Ortiz

Gantuya Larkins

Jackson Richard Patrick

Coyle

Jeremy Cronig

Cyrus Dettle

Groper

Kevin Guo

Taylor He

Yuhei Ota Francisco Javier Palomo Thomas Phillips Robert Anthony **Quihuis IV**

Evan Richards Damarias Russell Sonny Safee Jakob Schwam

Master of Chinese Economic and Political Affairs

Jonathan Elkobi	Zhongqiang Li	Junzhe Shi	Sirui Yao	Xitian Zou
Zhuohan Fang*	J. Martin Mancini*	Dinah Shi*	Sibo Zheng	
Michelle Lai	GianCarlo Samayoa	Yaohong Wang	Wenjie Zhou	

Master of International Affairs Ashley Hernandez

Guanhao (Edison) Hu*

Mariam Altamimi Chloe Marie Amiset Eliza Adair Appleton* Lucienne Valentina Arrigoni Putra Farrel Azhar Mounisha Balasubramanian Skylar Chyann Belden Ray Andrew Berman-Schneider* Yutong Bo Alex Bogisich Angela Weiyan Cai Jasper Junjie Cen Zhiyuan Chi Viola Chow

Samuel F. Crolla Zhenyang Hu Paula Jaramillo Christopher Cuevas* Yongsun Jin Alexander David Curry Gloria Kalt Matthew Kazden Dephny C. Duan Mary Khachatourian* Lauryn Edwards Tianning (Tini) Lan Alperen Efeoglu Taysia Fu-Jan Leung* Anuyjin Anna Enkhtur Sarah Lewis Nima Esfandiari Alexander (Alex) Li Danielle Hannah Eve Boyue (Harry) Liu Josephine Lowery Henry Mok McKenzie Hartman Anushka Mokta Angela Rose Molina

Hatraman (Elliot) Riley Sutton Kentaro Tahara Nguyen Stephanie Orosz Wei-Hsin Tang* Fernanda Andrea Anastasiya Uspenskaya Kynedi Paul Verrett Patrick Perrin Calynn Yanji Wang Minh Nam Pham* Monica Wang Evan Lande Pizzurro Yelaine Wang Pavan Raghavendra Yifei Wang Raja Manuri Venkata Nicholas Watson Hyeong Cheol Ro Henry Zivi Wong Adam C. Rosario Kimothy Wong Junna Saito Akshay Yeddanapudi* Megha Sanjay* **Oing Yin** Ilaria Simmen Ye Yuan Dana Suleiman Genghua Zhuang

Annie Suleimani

Hiroshi Muroi

Padilla

Master of Public Policy

Amanda Pinilla Appel	Yuxin Guo	Kazuhiro Kotabe	George Popp	Xuran Wang
Warsan Artan*	Tamara Handfas*	Siyuan Li	Daniel Pryke	Emily Corinna
Anne Charles	Emily Louise Harris*	Xiaoran Li	Gabriela Emilia	Wentworth
Wenxin Chen	Salvador Hernandez Jr.	Yumeng Liu	Quintanilla	Joy Werner
Yuwei (Kay) Chen	Junyi Hua	Chen Long	Courtney Ransom	Di Wu
Arturo Chiquito*	Jocelyn Huitron	Pengyu Lu	Masaaki Sato	Yiyang Wu
Harrison Cho	Gutierrez	Kayla Lutes	Dylan Chase Schneider	Ruixuan Xiang
Jordan Ryan Chu	Karlo Imper-Vuletić	Randi Macrorie	Archita Sharma*	Daisuke Yamakawa
Yihan Duan	Marzhan Ismailova	Fairweather	Masahiro Soji	Aoi Yamashita
Fedor Dukhnovskii	Yoshitake Ito	Zachary McKenzie	Angela Solanilla	Daichi Yamashita
Mir Muhtadi Faiaz*	Rhea Kalra*	Mizuki Murashima	Drew Peeyapat	
Alberto I. Fragoso	Hiroaki Kato	Masaki Nakamura	Suthipongchai*	
Basauri*	Michael Kennedy	John Austin	Alejandra Toro Delgado	
Daniel Jefte Garcia	Dongki (DK) Kim	Newcomer*	Julian Tiberius Verdon	
Gomar	Sangwook Kim	Bryce Sungjin Park	Michael Wagner	

* Dean's Fellow

Welcome

Caroline Freund. Dean

Commencement Address

Liliana Ferrer-Silva Ambassador of Mexico to Thailand, concurrent in Cambodia

Class Commencement Address

Jordan Ryan Chu, MPP, Class of 2024

Hooding of Degree Candidates

Jennifer Burney, Professor Gordon McCord, Associate Dean