2025 Award Recipients

Academic Achievement Award Highest grade point average in the graduating class

MAS-IA

Sarah Pouladdej, MIA, BA-MIA

Hyewon Yu, Gözde Açiköz, MPP. BA-MPP

Yutong Wu, **MCEPA**

Ruth Adams Award Recognizes the best analytical paper (qualitative) Julia Torokhova

Econometrics Prize *Recognizes the best empirical paper (quantitative)* Chisako Yoshigae

> Policy Memo Award First year GPS student who wrote the best policy memo paper for a course Abraham Wu

Language Achievement Award Outstanding achievement in language study at GPS **Ashley Singh**

Joseph Grunwald Memorial Award Significant contributions in the promotion of Inter-American understanding **Manuel Aguilera-Prieto Breana Sigchos Bósquez**

Faculty Recognition Award Awarded and voted on by the Class of 2025 **Craig McIntosh**

Dean's Teaching Award Best curriculum teaching assistant or tutor as voted by the Class of 2026 **Skyler Fesagaiga** Lingzhi Zhou

Commencement Speaker Award Chosen by the Class of 2025 to deliver the Commencement address Sinceré Blackmon **Matthew Tillyer**

Ayal Margalith Memorial Award for Leadership Graduate student who has shown leadership, excellence and devotion to the GPS student body as voted by the Class of 2025 Keikilani Cabus

> MAS-IA Peer Award For professionalism, scholarship, collegiality, integrity and service **Eric Martorano**

Doming Liu Award Significant contribution and leadership to student life within their first year at GPS as voted by the Class of 2026 **Tiffany Liu**

EDI Award Meaningful impact on student life and well-being through student-initiated Equity, Diversity and Inclusion activities **Eugene Parrish** Jessica Villatoro



School of Global Policy and Strategy

University of California San Diego

2025 **Commencement Exercises**

> Friday, June 13, 2025 10 a m

> > LionTree Arena



Graduating Class of 2025

Master of Advanced Studies in International Affairs

Christopher Capistron Jonathan Chau

Jiho Eom

Hyun Ah Kim

Nihat Lokman

Payton Morlock

Youngwook Chun

Reveca Quevedo

Karen Jiaqi Dam*

Stephen Deyo*

Jackson Dutra

Guerrero

Jocelyn Angelique

Roberto Hernández

Ittidecharchoti

Rodríguez*

Riley (Guy)

Sejin Kim

Miles Felker

Minh Do

William MacMillan

Horyeong Lee Alex Hyungtae Lim Eric Martorano Hyewon Yu Nicholas Previc

Master of Chinese Economic and Political Affairs

Yingcheng Guo* Yinda Hu Sihao Huang

Yuhe Gloria Mu* Yifeng Sun Xiaoyang Wang

Master of International Affairs

Henry Cheng Li

Okilbek Abdumavlanov Manuel Aguilera-Prieto Khaled AlFoudari Jorge Felipe Alves Dietrich Rezvan Atena Baghbanian Kayla Elizabeth Becker Matthew Alexander Burditt* Keikilani Ezra Cabus Tian Carabello Benjamín Castro Martínez* Danielle Chao Amy Chen Yun-Jheng (Celia) Chiu Erh-Ting (Isla) Chuang

Yuyang Li Contreras (Thaver) Yin Min Lim Renwei Liu Yivi Liu Yan Lu Ixtzel Tonatzin Durán Nitin Mamidi Jason Melz Natalie Mesplay Anna Marie Misenti Naeirika Neev Jade Nettrour* Anthony Quang Nguyen Fucong Niu Alexander Norling Evan Kang-Chiao Lam Lindsey Nicole Lauren Dorn Lapporte Olamendi Smith

Hiroaki Ozaki Sethy Tsoungui Armand Haig Pigeon Sarah Jessica Hibbard Pouladdej* Kelly Quan Valentina Reali Jackson Rice Lisa Lee Romstadt Breana Giselle Sigchos Bósquez Ashley Singh Jeehaey Sohn Matthew William Tillver* Xochilt Tlaseca Julia Torokhova Mimi Marie Trawinski Vittoria Trupiano

Yutong Wu

Yutong Zheng

Alexander Ushakov **Oinxia Wang** Xiaoran Wang Andrew Ward Xin Wei Yuxuan Wu* Zhuolun Wu Maria Teresa Yacamán Méndez* Jianping Yao Kyunghwan Yun Manging Zheng Lingzhi Zhou* Yinda (Harry) Zhu Xinyi Zhuo

Commencement Exercises

Welcome Caroline Freund. Dean

Commencement Address

Barry Naughton, So Kwan Lok Chair of Chinese International Affairs

Class Commencement Address

Sinceré Blackmon, MPP, Class of 2025 Matthew Tillyer, MIA, Class of 2025

Hooding of Degree Candidates

John Ahlquist, Associate Dean and Professor Liz Lyons, Associate Professor

Master of Public Policy T.-11- TT11

Gözde Açiköz İlyas Aktiken Daniel Anton Rodrigo Barra* Yavuz B. Basaran Sinceré Lashawn Lavell Blackmon Qiyao Cai Yammei Cai	Meilin Chen Yuchen Chen* Nissa Marlen Diaz Xiaowei Fan Skyler Leilua Fesagaiga* Kelsey Elizabeth Gans Wenying Gao	Julia Hill Christopher King Yu Lan Ke Li Ningjuan Li Shuotong Li Akihiro Masuda Kotoko Matsuzoe McKenna Maxwell*	Aiden Rosas Apollo Rosas Carina Ruscitti Sabrina Camille Sanchez Sarah Schroeder Briana Scott* Thomas Shi Lessica Villatoro*
Sinceré Lashawn Lavell	Fesagaiga*	Shuotong L i	Sarah Schroeder
	00	U	
Blackmon	Kelsey Elizabeth Gans	Akihiro Masuda	Briana Scott*
Qiyao Cai	Wenying Gao	Kotoko Matsuzoe	Thomas Shi
Yanmei Cai	Wanjing Gong	McKenna Maxwell*	Jessica Villatoro*
Seda Cebeci	Lyric Greif	Shelah Rochelle Ott	Danyi Wang
Sebastian Chavez	Edwin Hernandez	Eugene La'mont	Xinlin Xie
Jiyuan Che	Armenta	Parrish	Yuxuan Xiong

Zhisen Yang Wanru Yi Xuecong Yin Chisako Yoshigae Menghan Yu Lening Zhang Yujing Zhang Shang Zhao

* Dean's Fellow